Former UCHS Principal John Hill to succeed Dr. Rayfield as Superintendent, Teachers of the Year named


BLAIRSVILLE, Ga. – The Union County Board of Education (UCBOE) convened Dec. 12, 2017, at 6 p.m. at the UCBOE Building. All board members were present, as was Union County Schools (UCS) Superintendent Dr. Fred Rayfield.

The Board voted unanimously to announce former UCHS Principal John Hill (see featured picture) as successor to Dr. Fred Rayfield as UCS Superintendent. Rayfield will be working with Hill over the next several months prior to Hill’s taking the helm on July 1, 2018. Rayfield will remain in Blairsville after his retirement and will be available for consultation.

UCBOE Chairwoman Cynthia Odom said the Board had, at first, thought of hiring a search firm to assist with finding a replacement for Dr. Rayfield. However, she said, after considering the current field of candidates within UCS, and, given the cost of the search process and the probability of a person new to Union County Schools, it was not a reach to choose Hill. Hill, she said, is already familiar with the intricacies of the Union County School System, and the Board has high confidence in his demonstrated abilities.

Teacher of the Year Awards were presented to their respective recipients by the principals of each school. Presentations are on video below. They were as follows:

John Hill (L) and Dr. Fred Rayfield (R) presenting UCS Teacher of the Year Award to Brittany Jordan (C)

L-R: Elizabeth Sweet, Anna Roxbury, Camie George, Brittany Jordan, Stephanie Stubblefield, Dr. Rayfield

• Brittany Jordan named Union County System Teacher of the Year;
• Primary School – Stephanie Stubblefield, presented by Principal Millie Owenby;
• Elementary School – Brittany Jordan, presented by Assistant Principal Lisa Vaughn;
• Middle School – Anna Roxbury, presented by Principal Gwendolyn Stafford;
• High School – Camie George, presented by Principal C.T. Hussion; and
• Woody Gap School – Elizabeth (Liza) Sweet, presented by Principal Carol Knight.

L-R: Elizabeth Sweet, Anna Roxbury, Camie George, Brittany Jordan, Stephanie Stubblefield, Rick Maddox

Following the presentations, Rick Maddox from the Rotary Club in Blairsville recognized the 2017 Teachers of the Year with a plaque and an invitation to lunch with the Rotary Club on Feb. 15, 2018, where they would each be given a gift.

Rayfield announced that on Nov. 27, 2017, the Georgia High School Association (GHSA) granted an appeal by Union County Schools Athletics to step back from GHSA classification 7AAA to 8AA. One benefit of this move will reduce the number of “far-away” games for the 2018 season. This classification is for all UCS sports. GHSA classifications are based on school size.

Dr. Rayfield (L), Shawn Jarrard (R)

The Partner in Education Award for December 2017 was presented by Rayfield to the North Georgia News newspaper. Shawn Jarrard, reporter for the North Georgia News, accepted the award.

The first UCBOE training session for 2018, Personnel Leadership for Boards of Education, will be held on Jan. 23 from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m.





Fetch Your News is a hyper local news outlet that attracts more than 300,000 page views and 3.5 million impressions per month in Dawson, Lumpkin, White, Fannin, Gilmer, Pickens, Union, Towns and Murray counties as well as Cherokee County in N.C. FYNTV attracts approximately 15,000 viewers per week and reaches between 15,000 to 60,000 per week on our Facebook page. For the most effective, least expensive local advertising, call 706-276-6397 or email us at


Leave a comment - Dedicated to serve the needs of the community. Provide a source of real news-Dependable Information-Central to the growth and success of our Communities. Strive to encourage, uplift, warn, entertain, & enlighten our readers/viewers- Honest-Reliable-Informative.

News - Videos - TV - Marketing - Website Design - Commercial Production - Consultation

Search - Citizen Journalists - A place to share “Your” work. Send us “Your” information or tips - 706.276.NEWs (6397) 706.889.9700

Back to Top